Sajed Bhandari

America, Books, Cooking, Muslims and some other things

Quick clarification on Article 2 of 3

leave a comment »

There was a decent amount of criticism on my last article and rightfully so.

I would like to clarify that what I was expressing by contextualized morality is in regards to how we approach the laws that govern our American society. I stated that this is not a discussion on personal morality. As a Muslim our personal morality in terms of what we think is haram or halal needs to come from the Quran, Sunnah, the Consensus of the Scholars and Qiyas. I was addressing how I approach the laws of our country and which rules and laws that I cant see applicable to me i.e. executing homosexuals, enforcing hijab on women, collecting Jizya. These are laws that I can’t see applying in the modern judicial system based on civic reason that exists in America.

– Sajed

Written by sajedbhandari

March 3, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Leave a Reply

